A reorganization meeting of the Borough Council of Lewisburg, Union County, ATTENDANCE Pennsylvania, was held on Monday, January 06, 2020 in the Borough Council Chambers, 55 South Fifth Street. Present: Councilmembers Heayn, Yohn, Mahon and Medina, and Councilmembers-Elect Comas, Derman, Farrell, and Sulai. Also present: Mayor Wagner, Manager/Treasurer Lowthert, Solicitor Lyons, and Secretary Anders. Also present: Page Kaszuba, Kim Wheeler and Matt Farand. CALL TO ORDER CALL TO ORDER: Mayor Wagner called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM, followed by the pledge of allegiance. OATH OF OFFICE -OATH OF OFFICE (COUNCIL): Mayor Wagner administered the Oath of Office individually COUNCIL (WARD I/WARD II/WARD to: Michael Derman, representing Ward I; Jordi Comas, representing Ward II; Debra Sulai, representing Ward III, and Elijah Farrell, representing Ward IV. Councilmembers Derman, III/WARD IV) Comas, Sulai and Farrell will each be serving a four-year term of office with a term expiration of December 31, 2023. NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS FOR COUNCIL PRESIDENT AND COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT: Mayor Wagner indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of President of Council. Councilmember Comas nominated Luis Medina for the position of President of Council. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Wagner asked for a roll call vote: MEDINA - Comas, Derman, Sulai, Heayn, Mahon, Farrell and Yohn COUNCIL PRESIDENT Luis Medina was unanimously elected as President of Council. (Luis Medina) Mayor Wagner indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of Vice President of Council. Councilmember Medina nominated Jordi Comas. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Wagner asked for a roll call vote: COMAS - Derman, Sulai, Heayn, Mahon, Farrell, Yohn and Medina COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT Jordi Comas was unanimously elected as Vice President of Council. (Jordi Comas) Mayor Wagner expressed her congratulations to Council President Medina and Council Vice President Comas. She relinquished the gavel to President Luis Medina to officiate the remainder of the reorganization meeting. NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS OF BOROUGH MANAGER/TREASURER, **BOROUGH SECRETARY, BOROUGH SOLICITOR:** APPOINTMENT OF Councilmember Sulai made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Yohn, to appoint William WILLIAM Lowthert as the Borough Manager/Treasurer effective 01/01/2020 to 12/31/2021 per the LOWTHERT AS MANAGER/ terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on TREASURER 12/17/2019. Motion was unanimously approved. Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Yohn, to appoint APPOINTMENT OF JACQUELINE Jacqueline Anders as the Borough Secretary effective 01/01/2020 to 12/31/2021 per the ANDERS AS terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on SECRETARY 12/17/2019. Motion was unanimously approved. APPOINTMENT OF Councilmember Heayn made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to appoint ANDREW D. LYONS Andrew D. Lyons as the Borough Solicitor with the same rates and terms in effect for 2018-AS SOLICITOR 1019. Motion was unanimously approved. APPOINTMENT OF Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Yohn, to approve LARSON DESIGN Larson Design Group as the Borough Engineer for land development plan reviews and GROUP AS engineering related matters per the terms of the engagement letter dated 12/20/2019. BOROUGH Motion was unanimously approved. ENGINEER PAYING PAYING EXPENDITURES IN ADVANCE: Councilmember Heavn made a motion, EXPENDITURES IN

> CHAIRPERSON PRO TEM (MICHAEL DERMAN)

ADVANCE

Michael Derman was unanimously elected as Chairman Pro Tem

late payments. Motion was unanimously approved.

seconded by Councilmember Yohn, to approve paying bills prior to Council approval for the

Council President Medina asked for nominations for the Chairman Pro Tem.

Councilmember Comas nominated Michael Derman. There were no other nominations;

nominations were closed. Council President Medina asked for all in favor, ALL approved.

period of 01/01/2020 through 12/31/2021 to receive discounts where applicable and avoid

Tuesday, January 06, 2018		
COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT: Council President Medina announced the Committee membership		COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS
Administrative/ Finance:	Michael Derman, Chairperson; Jordi Comas, David Heayn Meets 2 nd Monday of each month at 4 PM Meets 1 st Monday in months of September and December at 4 PM	P KASZUBA APPOINTED JUNIOR
Public Works/ Police:	Jordi Comas, Chairperson; Debra Sulai, Sue Mahon Meets 1 st Tuesday of each month at 8 AM	COUNCILPERSON ADJOURNMENT
Community Development/ Planning:	Susan Yohn, Chairperson; Susan Mahon, Elijah Farrell Meets 2 nd Thursday of each month at 5 PM and Meets 3rd Thursday in months of January, April, July and October	
(Luis Medina and Judy Wagner, Ex-Officio on above committees)		
Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Heayn, to appoint Paige Kaszuba to serve as Junior Councilperson. Motion was unanimously approved. (Mayor Wagner administered the Junior Councilperson Pledge to Paige Kaszuba.)		P KASZUBA APPOINTED JUNIOR COUNCILPERSON
Councilmember Heayn made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to appoint Jordi Comas to the Buffalo Valley Recreation Authority. Motion was unanimously approved.		COMAS APPOINTED TO BVRA
Councilmember Sue Mahon read a resignation letter to Council. Councilmember Mahon will resign as a Ward I Councilmember effective 01/21/2020. Mayor Wagner presented Councilmember Mahon with a Certificate of Appreciation.		MAHON RESIGNATION
There being no further business, Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Mahon, to adjourn the meeting. Motion was unanimously approved. Meeting adjourned at 06:59 PM.		ADJOURNMENT
Respectfully submitted,		
Jacqueline Anders Borough Secretary		

Г