A **reorganization meeting** of the Borough Council of Lewisburg, Union County, Pennsylvania, was held on **Monday**, **January 03**, **2022**, in the Borough Council Chambers, 55 South Fifth Street. Present: Councilmembers Derman, Comas, and Sulai and Councilmembers-Elect Heayn and Bilenky-Trahan. Also present: Mayor Alvarez, Manager/Treasurer Lowthert, Solicitor Lyons, and Secretary Anders. Also present: Matt Farand.

<u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> Mayor Alvarez called the meeting to order at 6:31 PM, followed by the pledge of allegiance.

<u>OATH OF OFFICE (MAYOR)</u>: Mayor Alvarez was sworn in prior to the Reorganization meeting. Mayor Alvarez will be serving a four-year term of office with a term expiration of December 31, 2025.

OATH OF OFFICE (COUNCIL): Mayor Alvarez administered the Oath of Office individually to: Bina Bilenky-Trahan, representing Ward I; David Heayn, representing Ward III, Marlene Lira, representing Ward IV was sworn in prior to the Reorganization meeting; Dianne Powers, representing Ward II will be sworn in prior to January 13, 2022. Councilmembers Bilenky-Trahan, Heayn, Lira, and Powers will each be serving a four-year term of office with a term expiration of December 31, 2025.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS FOR COUNCIL PRESIDENT AND COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT:

Mayor Alvarez indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of President of Council.

Councilmember Comas nominated Debra Sulai for the position of President of Council. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Alvarez asked for a roll call vote:

SULAI - Bilenky-Trahan, Comas, Derman, Heayn, and Sulai

Debra Sulai was unanimously elected as President of Council.

Mayor Alvarez indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of Vice President of Council. Councilmember Derman nominated Jordi Comas. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Alvarez asked for a roll call vote:

COMAS - Bilenky-Trahan, Comas, Derman, Heayn, and Sulai

Jordi Comas was unanimously elected as Vice President of Council.

Mayor Alvarez relinquished the gavel to President Debra Sulai to officiate the remainder of the reorganization meeting.

NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS OF BOROUGH MANAGER/TREASURER, BOROUGH SECRETARY, BOROUGH SOLICITOR:

Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to appoint William Lowthert as the Borough Manager/Treasurer effective 01/01/2022 to 12/31/2023 per the terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on 12/21/2021. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Heayn made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to appoint Jacqueline Anders as the Borough Secretary effective 01/01/2022 to 12/31/2023 per the terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on 12/21/2021. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Comas, to appoint Andrew D. Lyons as the Borough Solicitor per terms of engagement email dated 12/01/2021. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Bilenky-Trahan made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to appoint PennCore Consulting as the Borough Engineer for land development plan reviews and engineering related matters per the terms of the engagement letter dated 12/01/2021. Motion was unanimously approved.

PAYING EXPENDITURES IN ADVANCE: Councilmember Heavn made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Derman, to approve paying bills prior to Council approval for the period of 01/01/2022 through 12/31/2023 to receive discounts where applicable and avoid late payments. Motion was unanimously approved.

Council President Sulai asked for nominations for the President Pro Tem. Councilmember Comas nominated Michael Derman. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Council President Sulai asked for all in favor, ALL approved.

Michael Derman was unanimously elected as President Pro Tem.

ATTENDANCE

CALL TO ORDER

OATH OF OFFICE-MAYOR

OATH OF OFFICE

COUNCIL
(WARD I/WARD
II/WARD III/WARD
IV)

COUNCIL PRESIDENT (Debra Sulai)

COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT (Jordi Comas)

APPOINTMENT
OF WILLIAM
LOWTHERT AS
MANAGER/
TREASURER

APPOINTMENT
OF JACQUELINE
ANDERS AS
SECRETARY

APPOINTMENT
OF ANDREW D.
LYONS AS
SOLICITOR

APPOINTMENT
OF PENNCORE
AS BOROUGH
ENGINEER

PAYING EXPENDITURES IN ADVANCE

PRESIDENT PRO TEM (MICHAEL DERMAN) January 03, 2022

COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT: Council President Sulai

announced the Committee membership

Administrative/ Finance/ Public Michael Derman, Jordi Comas, Marlene Lira, Debra Sulai

Safety:

Meets 2nd Monday of each month at 4 PM

Meets 1st Monday in months of February, March, and November at 4 PM

Community Development/ Planning/ Public David Heayn, Bina Bilenky-Trahan, Dianne Powers, and Elijah

Farrell

Meets 1st Thursday of each month at 4 PM and

Works:

(Kendy Alvarez, Ex-Officio on above committees)

There being no further business, Councilmember Derman made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Heayn, to adjourn the meeting. Motion was unanimously approved. Meeting

adjourned at 06:49 PM.

ADJOURNMENT

COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS

Respectfully submitted,

Jacqueline A. Anders **Borough Secretary**