A **reorganization meeting** of the Borough Council of Lewisburg, Union County, Pennsylvania, was held on **Monday**, **January 02**, **2024**, in the Borough Council Chambers, 55 South Fifth Street. Present: Councilmembers Heayn, Powers, and Bilenky Trahan and Councilmembers-Elect Comas, Grobes, Stamm, Armbruster, and Pearson. Also present: Mayor Alvarez, Manager/Treasurer Lowthert, Solicitor Lyons, and Secretary Wendt. Also present: Kevin Gardner, Taylor Lightman, Justin Strawser, and Lauryn Longacre.

<u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> Mayor Alvarez called the meeting to order at 6:30 PM, followed by the pledge of allegiance.

OATH OF OFFICE (COUNCIL): Mayor Alvarez administered the Oath of Office individually to: Samantha Pearson, representing Ward I; Jordi Comas, representing Ward II, Leo Armbruster, representing Ward III; Jamie Grobes, representing Ward IV; and Phillip Stamm, representing Ward IV. Councilmember Stamm will be serving a two-year term of office with a term expiration of December 31, 2025; and Councilmembers Pearson, Comas, Armbruster, and Grobes will each be serving a four-year term of office with a term expiration of December 31, 2027.

NOMINATIONS AND ELECTIONS FOR COUNCIL PRESIDENT AND COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT:

Mayor Alvarez indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of President of Council.

Councilmember Comas nominated David Heayn for the position of President of Council. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Alvarez asked for a roll call vote:

HEAYN – Comas, Powers, Grobes, Stamm, Bilenky Trahan, Armbruster, Pearson, and Heayn

David Heayn was unanimously elected as President of Council.

Mayor Alvarez indicated she would now accept nominations for the position of Vice President of Council. Councilmember Comas nominated Bina Bilenky Trahan. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Mayor Alvarez asked for a roll call vote:

BILENKY-TRAHAN – Comas, Powers, Grobes, Stamm, Armbruster, Pearson, Heayn and Bilenky Trahan

Bina Bilenky Trahan was unanimously elected as Vice President of Council.

Mayor Alvarez relinquished the gavel to President David Heayn to officiate the remainder of the reorganization meeting.

Council President Heayn asked for nominations for the President Pro Tem. Councilmember Bilenky Trahan nominated Jordi Comas. There were no other nominations; nominations were closed. Council President Heayn asked for all in favor, ALL approved.

Jordi Comas was unanimously elected as President Pro Tem.

NOMINATIONS AND APPOINTMENTS OF BOROUGH MANAGER/TREASURER, BOROUGH SECRETARY, BOROUGH SOLICITOR:

Councilmember Powers made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Bilenky Trahan, to appoint William Lowthert as the Borough Manager/Treasurer effective 01/01/2024 to 12/31/2025 per the terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on 11/21/2023. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Armbruster, to appoint Kathy Wendt as the Borough Secretary effective 01/01/2024 to 12/31/2025 per the terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on 11/21/2023. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Powers, to retain Shannon Berkey as the Community Development/Grant Manager effective 01/01/2024 to 12/31/2025 per the terms of the Employment Agreement approved by Lewisburg Borough Council on 11/21/2023. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Powers, to appoint Andrew D. Lyons as the Borough Solicitor per the current terms of engagement. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Bilenky Trahan made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Stamm, to appoint James Bathgate of Weist, Muolo, Noon, Swinehart & Bathgate as the Zoning Hearing Board Solicitor per the terms of engagement letter dated 11/09/2023. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Powers made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Comas, to appoint Campbell Durrant, P.C. as the Borough's Attorney for labor related and other legal matters as needed. Motion was unanimously approved.

ATTENDANCE

CALL TO ORDER

OATH OF OFFICE -COUNCIL (WARD I/ WARD II/ WARD III/ WARD IV)

COUNCIL PRESIDENT (David Heayn)

COUNCIL VICE PRESIDENT (BINA BILENKY-TRAHAN)

PRESIDENT PRO TEM (JORDI COMAS)

APPOINTMENT OF WILLIAM LOWTHERT AS MANAGER/ TREASURER

APPOINTMENT OF KATHY WENDT AS SECRETARY

APPOINTMENT OF SHANNON BERKEY AS GRANT MANAGER

APPOINTMENT OF ANDREW D. LYONS AS SOLICITOR

APPOINTMENT OF JAMES BATHGATE AS ZHB SOLICITOR

APPOINTMENT OF CAMPBELL DURRANT P.C.

January 02, 2024

Councilmember Grobes made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Pearson, to appoint Mike Derman as the Borough Representative to the Central Susquehanna Fire & Emergency Services Board; and appoint Jordi Comas as Alternate. Motion was unanimously approved.

APPOINTMENT OF MIKE DERMAN; AND JORDI COMAS AS ALTERNATE TO THE CENTRAL SUSQUEHANNA FIRE & EMERGENCY BOARD APPOINTMENT OF TREY CASIMIR TO VACANCY BOARD

APPOINTMENT OF

Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Pearson, to appoint Trey Casimir to the Vacancy Board with a term expiring 12/31/2025. Motion was unanimously approved.

Councilmember Grobes made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Bilenky Trahan, to appoint PennCore Consulting as the Borough Engineer for land development plan reviews and engineering related matters per the terms of the engagement letter dated 11/01/2023. Motion was unanimously approved.

APPOINTMENT OF PENNCORE AS BOROUGH **ENGINEER**

PAYING EXPENDITURES IN ADVANCE: Councilmember Armbruster made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Powers, to approve paying bills prior to Council approval for the period of 01/01/2024 through 12/31/2025 to receive discounts where applicable and avoid late payments. Motion was unanimously approved.

PAYING EXPENDITURES IN ADVANCE

COUNCIL COMMITTEE APPOINTMENTS BY COUNCIL PRESIDENT: Council President Heayn announced the Committee membership.

COMMITTEE **APPOINTMENTS**

Administrative/ Finance/ Public David Heayn, Jordi Comas, Jamie Grobes, Leo Armbruster

Safety: Meets 2nd Monday of each month at 4 PM

Community Development/ Planning/ Public

Works:

Bina Bilenky Trahan, Dianne Powers, Phil Stamm, Samantha Pearson

Meets 1st Thursday of each month at 10 AM Meets 2nd Thursday in months of July and October

(Kendy Alvarez, Ex-Officio on above committees)

There being no further business, Councilmember Comas made a motion, seconded by Councilmember Powers, to adjourn the meeting. Motion was unanimously approved. Meeting adjourned at 07:03 PM.

ADJOURNMENT

Respectfully submitted,

Kathy D. Wendt **Borough Secretary**